Call 801.649.5300

AD/HD Presentations

Symptoms |  AD/HD Assessment   |  AD/HD Apps  | AD/HD Resources  

Adult AD/HD  | AD/HD Definition | AD/HD Questions

The recent release of the DSM-5 is the most current update on ADHD. The DSM-5 introduced three specific presentations of ADHD:

  • Predominantly Inattentive

  • Predominantly Hyperactive-Impulsive

  • Combined

The three subtypes are “defined by the presence of excessive symptoms of inattention and/or hyperactivity-impulsivity”.(1)

Predominantly Inattentive type has nine major symptoms:

  • Not listening

  • Being distracted

  • Making careless mistakes

  • Not paying attention to detail

  • Being forgetful

  • Losing things that are needed to complete tasks

  • Failing to pay attention and keep on task

  • Being unable to follow or comprehend directions

  • Avoiding tasks that involve effort

To have Inattentive type an individual must have six of the nine symptoms.

Predominantly Hyperactive-Impulsive type also has nine major symptoms:

  • Fidgeting

  • Squirming

  • Getting up often when seated

  • Having trouble playing quietly

  • Talking nonstop

  • Interrupting

  • Having trouble waiting your turn

  • Often acts “on the go” as if “driven by a motor”

  • Jumping around a room

To be classified with Hyperactive-Impulsive type an individual must have six of the nine symptoms.

Combined type requires an individual to have six or more symptoms of inattentiveness and six or more symptoms of hyperactivity/impulsivity. Here are the most common symptoms.